Resources & Referrals

Acupuncture:

Dr. Julie Von: http://www.drjulievon.com/

Qi Li Acupuncture http://qiliacupuncture.com/

Dr. William Ng: https://www.yelp.com/biz/william-ng-md-new-york

Third Root Community Health Centera worker-owned cooperative of holistic healthcare practitioners, providing accessible classes and treatments to the Brooklyn community.  Yoga, Massage, Acupuncture, Herbal Medicine offered on a sliding scale.   www.thirdroot.org

 

Doulas:

Dos Doulas: http://dosdoulas.com/

For Your Birth: http://www.foryourbirth.com/

Carriage House Birth: http://carriagehousebirth.com/

NYC Doula Collective: http://nycdoulacollective.com/

Doula Project (sliding scale + full spectrum doula-ing including terminations): http://www.doulaproject.org/

 

Reproductive Physical Therapy:

Renew PT: http://renewpt.com/

Functional Pelvis (does house calls as well): http://www.functionalpelvis.com/

 

Childbirth Education classes:

Mindful Birth (Mary Esther Malloy): http://mindfulbirthny.com/

Manhattan Birth (Tanya Wills): http://www.manhattanbirth.com/

Wild Was Mama (fka Caribou Baby): https://www.wildwasmama.com/collections/expecting-parents

Birthday Presence: https://birthdaypresence.com/

 

 Pediatricians:

Tribeca Pediatrics: Locations throughout Manhattan, Queens, Brooklyn and Jersey City https://www.tribecapediatrics.com/

Philippa Gordon: https://www.philippagordonmd.com/

Hudson Heights Pediatrics: http://site.hudsonheightspediatrics.com/

Dr. Stephen Adjl http://www.tbh.org/physician/stephen-ajl

 

Postpartum resources:

New Mom Talk Groups (in Chelsea + Inwood): http://mindfulbirthny.com/new-moms/

Bowery Babes (Manhattan below the 30s): http://bowerybabes.com/

Boccoca (Boreum Hill, Cobble Hill, Carroll Gardens): https://beta.groups.yahoo.com/neo/groups/bococa_parents/info

Park Slope Parents: http://www.parkslopeparents.com/

 

Mental health:

Seleni Institute: https://www.seleni.org/

Cornell Women’s Reproductive Psychiatry: http://weillcornellpsychiatrycenter.org/our-services/specialized-programs/womens-reproductive-psychiatry-program

Lauren Ezell Minear MSW (body image specialty) http://www.laurenminear.com/

 

Prenatal yoga:

Lila Yoga (Bowery): http://www.lilawellness.com/

Karma Kids: http://www.karmakidsyoga.com/

Yoga Glo: yogaglo.com (online subscription streaming service with excellent prenatal classes, especially those by Elena Brower)

 

Books

Making Babies: A Proven 3 -Month Program for Maximum Fertility by Sami S. David, MD and Jill Blakeway, LAc

The New Essential Guide to Lesbian Conception, Pregnancy and Birth by Stephanie Brill

Taking Charge of Your Fertility by Toni Weschler

The Thinking Woman’s Guide to a Better Birth by Henci Goer

Ina May’s Guide to Childbirth by Ina May Gaskin

Our Bodies, Ourselves: Pregnancy and Birth by Boston Women’s Health Collective and Judy Norsigian

 

Web Resources

It’s Conceivable: The path to parenting isn’t always straight, http://itsconceivablenow.com/  Blog dedicated to gay fertility, pregnancy and parenting.

Fertility Awareness Center, http://www.fertaware.com/. Informational site on natural methods of fertility awareness

Check It Out Guys, http://www.checkitoutguys.ca/.  The ins and outs of Pap Smears for trans men.

Beautiful Cervix Project teaches cervical self-exam and fertility awareness as a revolutionary path of promoting respect, confidence, and health.  Amazing pictures of cervices through the menstrual cycle. www.beautifulcervix.com