Resources & Referrals

Acupuncture:

Manhattan:

Dr. Julie Von: http://www.drjulievon.com/

Qi Li Acupuncture http://qiliacupuncture.com/

Dr. William Ng: https://www.yelp.com/biz/william-ng-md-new-york

Brooklyn:

Sarah Rivkin, Park Slope Acupuncture : http://www.slopeacupuncture.com/

Garden Acupuncture: https://gardenacu.com/

Third Root Community Health Center:  www.thirdroot.org

 

Doulas (birth, postpartum and breastfeeding support):

Collectives: Generally have doulas at a range of price points based on experience. Most services will speak with you about your needs and then match you with several doulas to interview and choose from.

Baby Caravan: http://www.babycaravan.com/

Birth Day Presence: https://birthdaypresence.com/

Carriage House Birth: http://carriagehousebirth.com/

Doula Project (sliding scale + full spectrum doula-ing including terminations): http://www.doulaproject.org/

For Your Birth: http://www.foryourbirth.com/

NYC Doula Collective: http://nycdoulacollective.com/

Doula Care Postpartum Service: www.doulacare.com

 

Solo practitioners + partnerships

Cori Pleune + Sarah Kaylor: http://dosdoulas.com/

Leigh Kader + Marnie Deutsch: www.kindoulas.com

Natalia Hailes + Ash Spivak: www.ourbrilliantbodies.com

Mary Esther Malloy: http://mindfulbirthny.com/

Mia Borgatta: www.mayoganyc.com

Terry Richmond: http://www.laborlove.org/

Bonu deCaires: www.fullbirth.com

 

Reproductive Physical Therapy:

Renew PT: http://renewpt.com/

Functional Pelvis (does house calls + sliding scale): http://www.functionalpelvis.com/

 

Childbirth Education classes:

Parent Craft (Casey Selzer): Park Slope + privates: https://www.parentcraft.org/

Birth Day Presence: Park Slope, W’burg, Union Square, W Village, Midtown East + privates: https://birthdaypresence.com/

City Births: Columbus Circle + Gramercy: http://www.citybirths.com/

Carriage House Birth: Brooklyn: http://carriagehousebirth.com/

Leigh Kader Childbirth Education: BK + privates: www.kindoulas.com/classes

Mindful Birth (Mary Esther Malloy): Chelsea + privates: http://mindfulbirthny.com/

Manhattan Birth (Tanya Wills): UWS + privates http://www.manhattanbirth.com/

Wild Was Mama: Greenpoint: https://www.wildwasmama.com/collections/expecting-parents

Ma Yoga (Mia Borgatta): Bowery + privates www.mayoganyc.com

 

Pediatricians:

Tribeca Pediatrics: Locations throughout Manhattan, Queens, Brooklyn and Jersey City https://www.tribecapediatrics.com/

Philippa Gordon: https://www.philippagordonmd.com/

Hudson Heights Pediatrics: http://site.hudsonheightspediatrics.com/

Dr. Stephen Adjl http://www.tbh.org/physician/stephen-ajl

 

New parent resources:

New Mom Talk Groups (in Chelsea + Inwood)

Kelly Mom: Great resource for breastfeeding questions/issues

Birth Day Presence offers same day breastfeeding support

La Leche League

 

Online parenting groups by neighborhood:

Bowery Babes (Manhattan below the 30s)

Boccoca (Boreum Hill, Cobble Hill, Carroll Gardens)

Park Slope Parents

Hudson River Park Mamas (Lower Manhattan/FiDi)

Madison Square Park Moms

Upper East Side Moms

Brooklyn Baby Hui (Williamsburg + Greenpoint)

 

Mental health:

Women’s Therapy Centre Institute

The Motherhood Center

Seleni Institute

Cornell Women’s Reproductive Psychiatry

Lauren Ezell Minear MSW (body image specialty)

 

Prenatal yoga:

Ma Yoga (Bowery)

Karma Kids

Yoga Glo (online subscription streaming service with excellent prenatal classes, especially those by Elena Brower)

 

Books

The Thinking Woman’s Guide to a Better Birth by Henci Goer

Ina May’s Guide to Childbirth by Ina May Gaskin

The Birth Partner by Penny Simkin

Our Bodies, Ourselves: Pregnancy and Birth by Boston Women’s Health Collective and Judy Norsigian

The New Basics by Michel Cohen

Making Babies: A Proven 3 -Month Program for Maximum Fertility by Sami S. David, MD and Jill Blakeway, LAc

The New Essential Guide to Lesbian Conception, Pregnancy and Birth by Stephanie Brill

Taking Charge of Your Fertility by Toni Weschler

 

Other Web Resources

It’s Conceivable: The path to parenting isn’t always straight, http://itsconceivablenow.com/  Blog dedicated to gay fertility, pregnancy and parenting.

Fertility Awareness Center, http://www.fertaware.com/. Informational site on natural methods of fertility awareness

Check It Out Guys, http://www.checkitoutguys.ca/.  The ins and outs of Pap Smears for trans men.

Beautiful Cervix Project teaches cervical self-exam and fertility awareness as a revolutionary path of promoting respect, confidence, and health.  Amazing pictures of cervices through the menstrual cycle. www.beautifulcervix.com